Timeless

There was something inexplicably reassuring and comforting about finding myself in a 700 year old building, not because it was a ‘House of God’ but rather because of the fragile old lady who had welcomed me into the church as if she had known me her entire life. I felt grateful to this woman as she showed me her favourite poetry collection and even though I wasn’t really listening, lost in my thoughts, it was as though there was nothing to be afraid of anymore – so many people over endless years had stood in the exact same spot as me and countless more people would do so in the future. For a mere fleeting second I felt a part of the universe and life and death were meaningless and I was at peace with everything.

MM

About hombremediocre

Publisher, bibliophile, writer, traveller and general culture aficionado. (My favourite punctuation mark is the em dash.)
This entry was posted in Cultural constellation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

